Bird Island

By: Kitty

Aug 07 2008

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: animals, Travel, water

3 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:20.4mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ1

I wish I’d taken my better camera out on the water, but was afraid it would get ruined.

This is Queen Bess Island, off the coast of Louisiana and is populated by birds only. It has the nickname of Bird Island, but not too far from there is another island with that name. And not as many birds. I went to Bird Island on my aunt’s houseboat and spent a week there as a teenager (not this one in the photo). Back then the beach area had millions of bits of China. Someone told me it was from a hurricane about a hundred years earlier, one that it killed nearly everyone who lived on a nearby island, but I think maybe a ship full of China might have spilled over.

The pelican is the State Bird. While growing up, the pelican was an endangered species so I didn’t see too many of them back then. It was shocking to me to see so many of these at once. I’d like to go back here one day when the weather is better and get some better photos.

Camera: Panasonic DMC-TZ1
Exposure: 0.008 sec (1/125)
Aperture: f/4
Focal Length: 20.4 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Flash: Flash did not fire, auto mode

3 comments on “Bird Island”

  1. That many birds would freak me out. I like birds, don’t get me wrong, as long as they mind their own business though. I do not dig swoopers.

  2. It was one of the most bizarre moments of my life. Stunning, really. And so many with these ridiculously wide wingspans.

    The guy who took us out there said he’d never seen that many birds there before. It must have been the approaching storm. Just a weird moment I guess.

  3. Kitty, this is only one of many, many wonderful photographs. You are one of the most gifted and talented women I have the pleasure of calling my friend. God has truly poured an artist’s eye in you in sooo many ways. Keep up the creative good work! Love ya! Sharon Reagan


Leave a Reply

