Hands

By: Kitty

Sep 20 2008

Tags: , , , ,

Category: photo, Texas

6 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:96mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XTi

As we watched him go down, this guy was seeing stars and birds. He was down so long I thought he was dead.

I overexposed in Photoshop, stripped the color and added a warming filter.

Camera: Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi
Exposure: 0.04 sec (1/25)
Aperture: f/5.6
Focal Length: 96 mm
ISO Speed: 400
Flash: Flash did not fire

6 comments on “Hands”

  1. I really like this shot Kitty. I like that his hands are being held and the framing of that… I love the blurring of his hair… Something about tenderness and violence……

  2. Thanks, Sulya. It felt so wrong to take a photo of an unconscious guy, so I waited until he started to wake up. That is what caused the blur, him moving his head. Funny, I almost didn’t put it up here because of the blur and then thought that is one of the best things about this, it tells more of the story.

  3. I like the blur Kitty. It tells of your kindness for one. It would have been indiscriminate to show his face even if public photography is free game. In this situation where one can not turn away at free will, it is up to the photographer to use better judgment. Good for you.

    As for the photo itself, I am always interested in the back story. You are one interesting woman with the situations you find yourself in. Again, good for you!

  4. Thanks for the kind words, Sensualist.

    I’m just realizing I didn’t set this up properly. This was an MMA event, kickboxing, grappling, boxing, and the guy got knocked out during the fight.

  5. Great developing in this, Kitty.

  6. I would have blurred the head purposefully if it hadn’t been done accidentally. It’s important to preserve privacy.


Leave a Reply

