Don’t Come Around Here No More

I’m not the sort of person who can go looking for a photo and find one. Usually, photos find me. Of course I don’t usually have a camera when this happens

Years ago when I worked the night shift, I used to drive by this old church and cemetery. It’s on one of the few hills out here in the flat prairie lands, so it sticks out.

The road that passes in front has since been rerouted, so you have to know this place exists to find it. I always did think it would make a dramatic picture, so I went looking for it a couple of days ago.

I’m not sure what bent the steeple, it wasn’t like that when I used to pass here. I’m thinking it might have been hit by a bad storm. I like it better this way.

I’d gone to photograph the other side of the church, but the bent steeple was like a crooked finger calling me to go through the rusted metal gates and explore. I’d never been on this side, or in this graveyard.

I wanted to go way down the hill and get a more panoramic shot, but there was a clump of trees behind me with some strange noises coming out of there. The place only appeared deserted. Probably some animals, but it made me realize how vulnerable I was out there all alone and distracted with a camera.

I know there’s a lot in here, the bent steeple, the heart shaped tombstone, and the fresh grave, but see, I ain’t goin’ back over there. This photo is very different from the one I had in my mind all these years.

I did some simple adjustments in Lightroom (desaturate the yellows, up the exposure) and some in Photoshop (cloned out a trash bin, a burn on the sky).

Exposure:0.025 sec (1/40)
Aperture:f/8.0
Focal Length:50 mm
ISO Speed:200
Exposure Bias:0 EV
Flash:Off

6 comments on “Don’t Come Around Here No More”

  1. That bent steeple is something else. It looks so deserted, and yet, there is a fresh grave. An interesting study.

  2. I am drawn to that heart-shaped tombstone.

  3. Eileen, I had no idea this graveyard was still in business. I love the bent steeple, I took some close ups of it but I’m not sure what to do with it. Hmmm. I might need to go back in the summer with some other lenses and try again with some different angles. That thing fascinates me.

    Michele, I was drawn to that too, it being so close to Valentine’s. It’s a woman buried there, born in the mid 50’s and buried in 1995.

    I’d never seen a pile of dirt on a grave before because back home the graves are above ground.

  4. Like Michelle, the heart shaped tombstone is the focal point for me. I think the darkened tree above it with the greyed sky behind really makes it sharpen.

  5. Aunt Kitty, You amaze me ❤

  6. wow! This is the same church i used for my cd !


Leave a Reply

