Different

By: Kitty

Aug 24 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: photo, Travel

91 Comments

Aperture:f/2.5
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/40 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

In a forest in Japan all the trees were straight except for these two that were clinging to each other.

Camera Canon EOS 5D Mark II
Exposure 0.025 sec (1/40)
Aperture f/2.5
Focal Length 50 mm
ISO Speed 200
Flash Off, Did not fire

91 comments on “Different”

  1. Wow. This is an amazing photo. I love the black and white.

  2. So beautiful. I wonder, if I were a tree which tree would I be? One of the straight-shooters or a tree that clung to another.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  3. Awesome photo! It sure sets the stage for a great short story.

  4. Your photo: lovely. Your description of it: beautiful flash fiction. Leaves room to imagine. Thanks for your post. ~Heather

  5. That’s a neat photo. I love black-and-white photography. If helps you focus on what’s important.

    http://www.toddpack.com

  6. This picture is simply beautiful!

  7. Amazing photo. I’ve seen smilier trees to that in Japanese Gardens, but never in the forest.

    • It really stuck out. I wish I had a better vantage point to compose the photo, but I was on a trail in a low area and put my camera between some headstones to get this photo.

  8. amazing photo. You have great work. this picture is so beautiful, i love it.

  9. Thanks for sharing…just beautiful!
    Some people NEED to hug!

    evelyngarone.com

  10. Great photo some times black and white just says it all…great

  11. if you take a second to really think about how trees intertwine with each other, it kind of symbolizes diversity. Now a days everyone’s trying to be different but it’s the people that are actually being themselves that are the “next big thing”

    • My brothers used to always tell me “You’re just trying to be different.”
      I’d fight back, “That’s good thing.”

  12. wow. BW works well. an obvious metaphor for relationships which others don’t approve of i think?

    http://www.imoose.co.uk

  13. Absolutely breathtaking picture. Beautiful with a mysterious quality.

  14. Amazing image! And, what a wonderful point of interest that these two trees alone were bent and intertwined.

  15. Exquisitely beautiful.

  16. After living and working in the concrete jungle of Tokyo for five years I usually think that Japan is the ugliest place in the world. Thanks for reminding me that there are coeners of beauty and mystery. I must get out of the city more often.

    • Yes, you must head out to Kyoto on the bullet train.
      I do find Tokyo stunning, but I see what you mean. I never really want to hang around my neighborhood and take photos, it all seems so uninteresting.

  17. I mean seriously. How much can one love a Canon? 🙂 Beautiful shot. Would definitely be eye-catching to be in the thick of it.

  18. Stunning photo!!!

  19. Very Alice-in-Wonderlandyish. Nice photo, and best wishes on your photography endeavors!

  20. These are two very smart trees! Thanks for the reminder. We all need to cling to each other. Awesome photo!

  21. Nice pictures!

  22. I can’t seem to peel my eyes off this photo just yet … 🙂

  23. Excellent picture! good.

  24. I think they MUST need each other. Very cool!

  25. Wonderful image!

  26. Wow..amazing!!!

  27. Hey! Great Post & Thanks for sharing. Awesome picture!

    your friends,

    XR VOLUME

  28. Awesome shot. Nice choice of black and white for the photo — it really lets you see the effects of light. Great work!

  29. a really pic.. I wonder how the color version would have been..!!

  30. Beautiful picture!

  31. amazing capture…nature manages to keep everyone in awe with wonders like these!

  32. Hello Kitty… congratulations on making it to the WP front page. Great shot.

  33. It is an excellent picture …..I gazed my eyes…..I feel like it can be made

  34. Awesome photo, nice tones.

  35. And a gigantic thanks to WordPress for hosting my blog and putting this post on their front page! Yayayay!

  36. you’re welcome ;o)

  37. I was just wandering around online and found your site…and for quite sometime could not help but stare at this photo. It made me wonder if you stumbled into a moment where the forest/trees were telling secrets. Both takes…black and white and color are beautiful. I look forward to seeing more of your work. This piece, with all of its curves, I found to be very hypnotic.

  38. Hi Diane. You nailed it with “hypnotic.” It was one of the most hypnotic and peaceful places I’ve ever been.
    I’m looking forward to more of your thoughts on my photos, thanks for your comment.

  39. What a breath-taking image… you really cpatured something special there.
    http://leprechaunmuse.wordpress.com/

  40. […] Diferente (via The Cuckoo’s Nest) Ir aos comentários Em uma floresta no Japão, todas as árvores são retas, exceto para os dois pés de alguma coisa que estavam agarrados uns aos outros. Camera Canon EOS 5D Mark II Exposição 0.025 sec (1/40) Abertura f/2.5 Lente 50 mm   … Read More […]


Leave a Reply

